Jupiter and Its Moons


Jupiter’s four largest moons were found by Galileo in 1610 and named after Zeus, the god of the sky. Callisto, Ganymede, Europa and lo are the names of the moons. Jupiter was formed 4.5 billion years ago by gas and dust surrounding the sun. Jupiter’s red spot is bigger than Earth. NASA’s Juno spacecraft arrived at Jupiter on July 4.  The Juno mission will study the massive planet; they will be studying the planet’s gravity, radiation, its atmosphere and magnetic fields. The Juno spacecraft took a picture of Jupiter and the four moons on June 21 from 6.8 million miles away.

I think this article is important because not many people know about Jupiter and its moons. This does not relate to anything we have done in science except for one thing, the planet painting that we put on the walls.

by Taylor 4M


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Jupiter and Its Moons

  1. nbentsi-addisonposey says:

    This is an interesting article because I didn’t know that there were this many moons for Jupiter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *